Random Article

Posted November 15, 2012 by Always Acoustic in Concert Reviews

Aranda The Abbey Pub Review

© 2012 Always Acoustic

It was like a police line-up as the next band to perform on November 10th at The Abbey was Aranda.

The trio from Oklahoma City of Dameon Aranda, Gabe Aranda and B. Webb hooked The Abbey audience with their performance beginning with “One More Lie.”

Aranda continued with their most recent album, Stop the World with “Undone” before they went old school and performed “Still in the Dark,” “Testify,” “Gravity” and “Whyyawannabringmedown” from their self-titled debut Aranda

The mix of Aranda’s new and old material gave fans a hint of what type of songs they can expect on both albums. 

Dameon Aranda killed it on ‘Satisfied’ as he played the acoustic guitar

The brothers Dameon Aranda and Gabe Aranda are both very talented singers in Aranda, but at times the background vocals were in competition with the lead vocals. Maybe the lead vocalist should be Dameon Aranda because he definitely can hold a tune and killed it on “Satisfied” as he played the acoustic guitar.  The song is definitely one of the best songs from Stop the World.

Just because Dameon killed it on “Satisfied” doesn’t mean that Gabe Aranda isn’t talented vocally. Gabe was multitasking as he sang and performed on the drums the entire evening. Gabe took a break to play the keyboard on “Satisfied” and tambourine on “Whyyawannabringmedown.” 

© 2012 Always Acoustic

Before Aranda’s evening concluded with “Whyyawannabringmedown,” they performed a few lyrical lines on some of Michael Jackson’s most popular songs like “The Way You Make Me Feel,” “Black or White,” “Wanna Be Startin’ Somethin’,” “Billie Jean” and “Man in the Mirror.” When the Michael Jackson cover songs concluded, they were elicited with the largest ovation of the evening from the audience. Aranda accomplished a good rock spin on these Michael Jackson covers, but there have been better versions sung. 

As Aranda’s evening ended at The Abbey in Chicago, everyone walked away with a good impression of the band. In fact, Hinder called Aranda and invited them on their tour. The pendulum is swinging upwards for Aranda and it will be interesting to see where they go from here.

The Abbey Set List:

  1. “One More Lie”
  2. “Undone”
  3. “Still in the Dark”
  4. “Testify”
  5. “Gravity”
  6. “The Way You Make Me Feel”/ “Black or White”/ “Wanna Be Startin’ Somethin’”/“Billie Jean”/“Man in the Mirror”
  7. “Satisfied”
  8. “Whyyawannabringmedown”



2012-Dec. AAI D-Mag (Final)