Random Article

Posted September 17, 2012 by Always Acoustic in Concert Reviews

The Bravery HOB Review

Saturday, April 19, 2008
By Aaron Keker

METRO, Chicago – Before the concert began, I had the pleasure of interviewing vocalist Sam Endicott from The Bravery at the Metro in Chicago, Illinois. It was a very laid back interview and Sam was very entertaining.

Around 8:20 p.m., The Bravery entered the stage with a loud applause and performed their first song on their set list, which was “Fearless.” 

Unlike their performance last December, The Bravery actually played three songs after their encore. It started with “Split Me Wide Open” continued with  “Tragedy Bound” (Moon Version) and the grand finale was “Unconditional.” 

Besides the ovations after each song concluded, people were dancing upstairs to several of The Bravery’s most popular songs.  

Not only was the audience energized by the dancing and cheering but also they provided additional background vocals on “Believe,” “Time Won’t Let Me Go,”  “An Honest Mistake” and “Unconditional.” 

Again just like last December, Sam entertained us with his footwork and enthusiasm. Sam proceeded to toss the microphone stand down on “Swollen Summer” and twirled the microphone on “Unconditional.”  

For those of you who enjoy R&R mixed with some electronics, you will want to listen to songs like “An Honest Mistake,” “No Brakes,” “Fearless,” “Public Service Announcement,” “Unconditional” and the entire moon side of The Sun and the Moon Complete. In fact, the most listened to moon songs on their MySpace page at www.myspace.com/thebravery are “Believe” and “The Ocean.” 

If you are a digital single enthusiast or D.S.E., you should purchase all of the songs that I mentioned above as well as songs like “Fistful of Sand,” “Every Word is a Knife in My Ear,” “Split Me Wide Open” and their live album titled Live from SoHo (iTunes Exclusive).  

Also, make sure you download their undiscovered songs title “Give In” from their debut album The Bravery. Who knows maybe if a lot of you D.S.E.’s purchase the song on iTunes, Napster or Rhapsody, The Bravery will incorporate that song onto their set list? 

Finally, I am looking forward to providing future coverage of The Bravery next time they perform in Chicago. In fact, they were even better than the last time I saw their performance, which was on December 18, 2007 at the Vic Theatre in Chicago. Not only that, but The Bravery are only a handful of bands that can actually incorporate rock music with electronics and actually pull it off flawlessly. If you want to see a live performance by The Bravery, visit their MySpace page above or web site at www.thebravery.com for tour information. Below is the set list from The Bravery’s performance at Metro in Chicago. 

Chicago Set List:

  1. “Fearless”
  2. “No Brakes”
  3. “Public Service Announcement”
  4. “This is Not the End” (Moon Version)
  5. “Tyrant”
  6. “Believe”
  7. “Time Won’t Let Me Go”
  8. “Every Word is a Knife in My Ear”
  9. “The Dandy” (Rock)
  10. “The Ocean” (Moon Version)
  11. “An Honest Mistake”
  12. “Swollen Summer” 


  1. “Split Me Wide Open”
  2. “Tragedy Bound” (Moon Version)
  3. “Unconditional”