Random Article

Posted September 19, 2012 by Always Acoustic in Concert Reviews

TESLA Fiesta Days Review

Sunday, July 15, 2012
By Aaron Keker

tesla_20120714_4668FIESTA DAYS, McHenry, Illinois – TESLA has been rockin’ the U.S. and World for over twenty-six and a half years and their loyal fan base has been hanging tough since their first album Mechanical Resonance.

TESLA could have started their performance at Fiesta Days in McHenry, Illinois, with any song, but they kicked it off old school with “Comin’ Atcha Live.”

The weather forecasted rain, but Jeff Keith carried the tune “Gettin’ Better,” and the rain never dropped.

TESLA performed newer songs in “I Wanna Live” and “Breakin’ Free,” but they never strayed from what made the heavy metal hair band a success, and that was songs like “Comin’ Atcha Live,” “Modern Day Cowboy,” “Little Suzi,” “Love Song” and “What You Give.”

If you think about it, it might be a brilliant idea because TESLA can tap into a younger fan base. Besides the X Generation and older fans who were in attendance already know TESLA’s music.

TESLA started a chain reaction that ignited the audience

The blistering evening continued as TESLA performed one of the best cover songs ever in “Signs.” There is a part in the chorus that goes, “Signs, signs, everywhere there’s signs …, can’t you read the sign?

Unfortunately, the unreadable TESLA sign was the only disappointment of what turned out to be a first-class performance.

Jeff commented after “Signs,” “As a matter of fact … I can’t read the sign and it says T-E-S-L-A and that spells TESLA.” No there was no winner of the National Spelling Bee contest just some kick ass rock and roll! Most likely the unreadable sign was unintentional, but it went perfect with the lyrics, “can’t you read the sign?” Nope!

Jeff Keith’s voice has not withered and it sounds just as good as it did in 1989 on The Great Radio Controversy.

Jeff performed his own dance maneuver, which was not the Axl Rose slither, but included a one punch crunch.

The scalding evening pressed on as TESLA performed the catchy tune, “Hang Tough” and then they mixed it up with a little romance in “Love Song.”

During “Love Song,” Frank Hannon interchanged between the acoustic and electric guitar and he walked down the hill playing his double neck electric guitar.

TESLA’s acoustic-electric combo continued on their hit songs “What You Give” and “Modern Day Cowboy.”

“Paradise,” which is another popular hit from The Great Radio Controversy, never entered the set list and it is a shame. The song may have sweltered the night further with an arousing ovation from a vociferous audience. Jeff Keith remarked after “Little Suzi,” “Thanks for kicking our ass tonight!”

The thing is, TESLA’s first-class performance started a chain reaction by igniting the audience, and maybe Jeff was right, they did kick their ass! TESLA performed a set list that continued to be admired by their fan base. The one thing that TESLA needs to do is plug in a few additional songs so they get their fan base into their newer music. Like Slash, 3 Doors Down and Alter Bridge, TESLA is offering live recordings after their shows by DiscLive Network. The CD is called Live, Loud & Proud 2012 and is available as either a pre-order that can be picked up after the show or can be purchased at the venue after the show. Not every show is recorded, but it is a must have for any TESLA fan.

Set List:

  1. “Comin’ Atcha Live”
  2. “Edison’s Medicine”
  3. “Gettin’ Better”
  4. “Signs”
  5. “Song and Emotion”
  6. “I Wanna Live”
  7. “Breakin’ Free”
  8. “Hang Tough”
  9. “Heaven’s Trail (No Way Out)”
  10. “Mama’s Fool”
  11. “Love Song”
  12. “What You Give”
  13. “Into the Now”
  14. “Modern Day Cowboy”
  15. “Little Suzi”