Random Article

Posted September 18, 2012 by Always Acoustic in Concert Reviews

Staind Chicago HOB Review

Tuesday, December 13, 2011
By Aaron Keker
Always Acoustic

Patriotism was rampant as the audience emphatically shouted, ‘U.S.A., U.S.A.!’

20111212 Staind 8111-12a

As several dysfunctional fans appeared to be tossed out of the Chicago House of Blues for fighting, the favorite quote of the evening was “I’m on the outside, I’m looking in.”

It wouldn’t be a Staind concert if there wasn’t some dysfunctional anarchy! The anarchy quickly turned into harmony as the mosh pit became obedient.

Staind performed a majority of their set list from Staind, but interjected their set list with fan favorites like “Right Here,” “Outside,” “It’s Been Awhile” and “Mudshovel.” 

20111212 Staind 3722-14a

Like a magician who suddenly makes a rabbit disappear, Staind performed a vanishing act by not performing one song from The Illusion of Progress. It was shocking that “Believe” didn’t make it onto the set list! Although, even if Staind would’ve performed that song, their performance scale wouldn’t have tipped any further.

Staind’s performance was not phenomenal, but it was good. At times the audio projection of Aaron Lewis’s voice sounded different. Maybe it’s the House of Blues acoustics because Aaron Lewis’s voice was definitely projected better when Staind performed at The Venue in Hammond, Indiana on December 6, 2008.

Aaron Lewis demonstrated his rebellious anger vocally with “Eyes Wide Open,” “Crawl,” “Failing,” “Paper Wings” and “Not Again.” One has to say, “Wow! How has Aaron Lewis maintained his rebellious anger vocally without losing his voice?” Perhaps he has trainedhis vocal chords to handle the stress of his rebellious anger.

Aaron Lewis kicked back into his old country boy roots by performing solo on “Red, White and Blue” and “Country Boy.” “Red, White and Blue” is even more powerful than “Country Boy” and will be even more popular when the song is eventually released!

As “Red, White and Blue” concluded, patriotism was rampant as the audience emphatically shouted, “U.S.A., U.S.A.!” Aaron’s shirt contained two 9mm handgun graphics with the words “Shall Not Be Infringed.” It was like the Chicago House of Blues was at a RonPaul rally with all of this symbolism!

Staind ended their performance intimately with Mike Mushok playing guitar while Aaron Lewis belted out the melodies to “Something to Remind You.” Staind reminded you why they’ve been around for thirteen years and rocking the hell out of the universe. Staind is beloved by their fans, even the dysfunctional ones. Hopefully, Staind will be around another thirteen years.

Chicago House of Blues Set List:

1. “Falling”

2. “Right Here”

3. “Eyes Wide Open”

4. “Fade”

5. “Crawl”

6. “Failing”

7. “So Far Away”

8. “Throw It All Away”

9. “Red, White and Blue”

10. “Country Boy”

11. “For You”

12. “Paper Wings”

13. “Outside”

14. “Not Again”

15. “It’s Been Awhile”

16. “Mudshovel”


17. “Something to Remind You”