Random Article

Posted September 17, 2012 by Always Acoustic in Concert Reviews

Shinedown Summerfest Review

Sunday, June 29, 2008
By Aaron Keker

SUMMERFEST, Milwaukee – What a busy week for Shinedown between their third album release of The Sound of Madness to flying in from El Paso, Texas for Summerfest in Milwaukee and flying back to Texas for several additional shows.

One might think with Shinedown’s busy schedule that it could be a let down at Summerfest, but it was just the opposite. 

Last evening, Shinedown continued with their energetic enthusiasm that they displayed on The Sound of Madness.

As Brent Smith entered the stage with his hair pinned back and his Ozzy eye maneuver, he sang the first verse to “Devour.”

For those of you who are not familiar with this song, it is their newest hit song. As the song concluded, Shinedown received a loud Summerfest welcome.

Not only did the crowd provide Shinedown with fourteen standing ovations, they were entertained even further with Brent’s enthusiasm.

Brent had the crowd raise their hands in the sky on “Heroes” and “I Dare You.” As everyone’s hands were raised and lowered, Brent had us shout out to the Heavens. The shouts were so loud that they had to have reached the stages of Blondie and Dashboard Confessional.

Not only that but Brent sweet-talked the crowd when he remarked that “there is not a star in the sky but there is 10,000 stars right here.”

Shinedown played about one-half of their songs from The Sound of Madness. The remaining songs were from Leave a Whisper and Us and Them. Shinedown played hits like “I Dare You,” “Burning Bright,” “45,” “Save Me” and “Fly from the Inside.” Brent even sang “If You Only Knew” which is Shinedown’s first straight-up love song.

I really have to say it was an awesome summer evening to spend with Shinedown. However, I wished they would have performed “What a Shame,” “Call Me,” “Breaking Inside” and “Simple Man.” In my opinion, the crowd would have been energized even further if Shinedown had played those songs.

Also, I did feel sympathy for those individuals who could not see Shinedown’s performance because of everyone standing on the bleachers and picnic tables. It was kind of fascinating because before Shinedown’s performance the jumbotron was turned on and you could text a message and see it appear on the tron. Approximately five minutes before Shinedown entered the stage, the tron was shut off.

In my opinion, if the tron stayed on, like they do on screens at the House of Blues in Chicago, more individuals would have stayed and enjoyed watching Shinedown’s performance. Who really wants to pay twenty-five dollars only to watch the backs and heads of people?

Finally, if you enjoy Shinedown’s music, but have not purchased The Sound of Madness, make sure you purchase it at iTunes, Rhapsody, Napster or any store that sells their music. Like Brent said to producer Robert Cavallo about his goals for The Sound of Madness, “you know what… I want the world to remember this as a record that needed to be made, and that there was a reason for it.” Who knows maybe this record will be a record to remember? Maybe even Shinedown’s best album ever? Below is the set list for Shinedown’s performance at U.S. Cellular Connection Stage at Summerfest.

Summerfest Set List:

1.    “Devour”
2.    “Heroes”
3.    “Cyanide Sweet Tooth Suicide”
4.    “I Dare You”
5.    “Sin with a Grin”
6.    “If You Only Knew”
7.    “Left Out”
8.    “Burning Bright”
9.    “Sound of Madness”
10.    “The Crow & the Butterfly”
11.    “Save Me”
12.    “45”


13.    “Second Chance”
14.    “Fly from the Inside”