Random Article

Posted September 15, 2012 by Always Acoustic in Concert Reviews

Kaiser Chiefs Vic Theatre Review

Saturday, April 21, 2007
By Aaron Keker 

VIC THEATRE, Chicago – We are the angry mob! The Angry Mob is one of the hit songs from the Kaiser Chiefs new album titled Yours Truly, Angry Mob. It was released on March 27, 2007.           

Last night, they played a sold out show at the Vic Theatre. 

The evening started with The Little Ones and then was followed by The Walkmen.

As the lights blackened, the Kaiser Chiefs sign ascended and the harmonica started to play, Ricky Wilson and the guys came out. Ricky put his ear to the audience until he could hear a roaring audience cheer and then the Kaiser Chiefs started into their first song of the evening.

The first song of the evening was “Na Na Na Na Naa” from the album Employment. The minute Ricky threw the microphone up in the air and the audience cheered, you knew this would be a wild evening.

The wild evening would continue with Ricky playing the tambourine and jumping around on very popular hits like Ruby from the album Yours Truly, Angry Mob to “Oh My God” from the album Employment. Not only did he play the tambourine and jump around in those songs he proceeded to toss his tambourine when they played “Heat Dies Down” from the album Yours Truly, Angry Mob and “Oh My God.”

The entire packed theatre was thrilled with excitement as we all sang along to each song on the set list. Between Ricky jumping up and down to his tambourine toss, Ricky made one fan happy.

As Ricky finished jumping up and down as he sang “I Predict a Riot,” from the album Employment he approached a woman below the stage and held her hand as he sang the remaining verses to the song. Not only did he hold the ladies hand during the song, he even made the audience sing the chorus. Ricky raised the microphone and stand as he went from floor to balcony to balcony to floor. After the song concluded and the final chorus was sung, the audience roared in ovation. As we sat in our seats in the balcony, we pondered what else could happen this evening? Kaiser Chiefs had already rocked the theatre and they are not even finished with their set list! What else could happen?

When Kaiser Chiefs played “Take My Temperature” from the import album Lap of Honour, Ricky jumped in the audience and started to body surf across the crowd. As he approached midway through the crowd, he stood up. When he stood up and was being held up, he belted out a few more verses before he surfed back up to the front of the stage. At this point, we were saying that was awesome! As he placed both feet on the stage he received a roaring ovation.

The last song Kaiser Chiefs played that evening was “Oh My God.” Everyone in the theatre sang along. Once again, Ricky did a tambourine toss. As the song concluded and the audience cheered, the Kaiser Chiefs left the stage. What an awesome performance by the Kaiser Chiefs!

I have been to several concerts this year and I have really enjoyed them all. However, this was a little different then the rest of them. Each singer brings in his or her own intensity and excitement. What Ricky brought this evening was not just intensity and excitement but he entertained the audience as well. Early that evening, you saw the excitement as he held his ear to the audience and he received a roaring audience cheer. Then he involved them even further when he started to jump up and down with a few of the audience members as he began to sing the first few words of “Na Na Na Na Naa.”

The entire Kaiser Chiefs performance he jumped up and down and continued to maintain the interest of the crowd. Between the jumping up and down, the handholding, the tambourine and microphone toss and the body surfing in the audience, how much more intensity and excitement could have happened that evening? My answer is not much more. The Kaiser Chiefs will be around for years to come because they really know how to entertain an audience. I really enjoyed their concert and I am looking forward to seeing them next time they appear in Chicago. The guys from Leeds, thank you for an awesome performance!

Chicago Set List:

  1. “Na Na Na Na Naa”
  2. “Everyday I Love You Less and Less”
  3. “Heat Dies Down”
  4. “Ruby”
  5. “Thank You Very Much”
  6. “I Can Do It Without You”
  7. “Modern Way”
  8. “Everything is Average Nowadays”
  9. “Highroyds”
  10. “I Predict a Riot”
  11. “Take My Temperature”
  12. “Retirement”


  1. “The Angry Mob”
  2. “Oh My God”