Random Article

Posted September 18, 2012 by Always Acoustic in Concert Reviews

Evanescence Congress Theater Review

Saturday, October 22, 2011
By Aaron Keker

CONGRESS THEATER, Chicago – Was Evanescence lost in paradise and forgotten?

The last time that Evanescence toured in Chicago was back on July 22, 2007 when they co-headlined with Korn on the Family Values Tour 2007.

During Evanescence’s four year and three month absence from Chicago, Fallen was certified 7.00x Multi-Platinum on June 24, 2008 and The Open Door was 2.00x Multi-Platinum on June 24, 2009.

Ten days ago, Evanescence released their much anticipated self-titled album Evanescence. The album scored the #1 album on the Billboard 200 and sold 127,000 copies according to Nielsen SoundScan. It was the #1 Album on iTunes U.S. too.

Evanescence is at their finest when Amy Lee is performing at the piano and singing.

No, Evanescence has not been forgotten. If anything, Evanescence has been reinvigorated. Evanescence bedazzled the audience beginning with their newest hit “What You Want” and ended their evening with “My Immortal.” They resurrected and modernized their set list by performing nine songs from their self-titled album.

Evanescence is at their finest when Amy Lee is performing at the piano and singing, while the remainder of her bandmates are providing the instrumental accompaniment. Amy Lee performed at the piano on “Lost in Paradise,” “My Heart is Broken,” “Lithium” and “Your Star.”

Evanescence killed it on “Lost in Paradise!” According to Will Hunt, “[the song] originally
[ ] was just [Amy] and the piano, which would’ve been fine, [but Evanescence’s] producer came in and really thought that it would be very cool to add the whole band [ ] on it.”

The next single from Evanescence is rumored to be either “My Heart is Broken” or “Lost in Paradise.”

Evanescence’s return to Chicago can be best measured by the vociferous ovations that nearly took the roof off the building, before and after the songs “Bring Me to Life” and “My Immortal.”

Don’t expect a magician to wave their magic wand and make Evanescence disappear for another four years. With the love and enthusiasm that Evanescence has received so far this tour, especially Chicago, they will not be making a disappearing act anytime soon.

Amy Lee tweeted on October 21st after the Eagles Ballroom show in Milwaukee, “Milwaukee KILLED it tonight! It’s gonna take something special to beat that crowd, think you’ve got what it takes, Chicago??” The Congress may not have toppled the Eagles, but they gave it a shot.

Congress Theater Set List:

1. “What You Want”
2. “Going Under”
3. “The Other Side”
4. “Weight of the World”
5.  “The Change”
6. “Made of Stone”
7. “Lost in Paradise”
8. “My Heart is Broken”
9. “Lithium”
10. “Sick”
11. “Oceans”
12. “Call Me When You’re Sober”
13. “Imaginary”
14. “Bring Me to Life”


15. “Never Go Back”
16. “Your Star”
17. “My Immortal”